Following the recent elections, Stainland and District Parish Council now has nine newly elected Parish Councillors who will serve the wards of Sowood, Holywell Green and Stainland for the next four years. This marks an important step in the journey of the new Parish Council which was established in 2017.  The temporary councillors, many of whom worked towards the creation of the new council, have now completed their task of preparing all the necessary infrastructure, adopting policies, employing the Clerk and setting up the office in Stainland Library as a point of contact for residents.

During the 12 month period prior to the elections Judith Crossley took on the role of Chair and together with the new clerk, led the Parish Council through its first year. This was no small undertaking but with help from other local Town and Parish Clerks and the Yorkshire Local Councils Association the temporary councillors achieved their goal of paving the way for elected councillors to get off to a flying start.

In the Chairs departing message, Mrs Crossley welcomed the new councillors and hopes that they will endeavour to keep Stainland and District and its residents at the forefront of their thoughts and decisions. Mrs Crossley also said that the temporary councillors had done an outstanding job in listening to residents, addressing issues and keeping them informed.

Your Parish Councillors

The Parish Councillors who have been elected for a 4 year term are:

Sowood Ward

Vacancy  (Chair)

Vacancy  (Vice Chair)

Tony Weeks

Stainland Ward

Malcolm James

Mark Mullany

Holywell Green Ward

Lisa Fieldhouse 


Guy Liddell
01924 259668

Cllr Liddell

Cllr Weeks

Cllr James



Cllr Mullany

Cllr Fieldhouse

Please note: We are holding virtual meetings until further notice. If a member of the public wish to join the meeting please contact the Clerk.